skip to Main Content

PPIC senior fellow Ellen Hanak is director of the PPIC Water Policy Center. The center’s research network is a dynamic group of top researchers with expertise in a range of disciplines—including biology, economics, engineering, geology, and law.

Water Center Staff

Ellen Hanak
Ellen Hanak
Center Director and Senior Fellow
415-291-4433
hanak@ppic.org
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Caitrin Chappelle
Caitrin Chappelle
Associate Center Director
415-291-4435
chappelle@ppic.org
Expertise:
Public policy
See More
Alvar Escriva-Bou
Alvar Escriva-Bou
Research Fellow
916-440-1125
escriva@ppic.org
Expertise:
Water resource engineering
See More
Photo of Kayla Granados
Kayla Granados
Administrative Assistant
415-291-4490
granados@ppic.org
See More
Staffphoto Gray
Brian Gray
Senior Fellow
415-565-4719
gray@ppic.org
Expertise:
Environmental law
See More
Staffphoto Jezdimirovic
Jelena Jezdimirovic
Research Associate
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Staffphoto Mccann
Henry McCann
Research Associate
415-291-4409
mccann@ppic.org
Expertise:
Geography
See More
Jeffrey Mount
Jeffrey Mount
Senior Fellow
415-291-4476
mount@ppic.org
Expertise:
Hydrology
See More
Staffphoto Pottinger
Lori Pottinger
Center Communications Manager
415-291-4428
pottinger@ppic.org
See More
Photo of Gokce Sencan
Gokce Sencan
Research Associate
415-291-4408
sencan@ppic.org
Expertise:
Water policy
See More
Photo of Carlos Torres
Carlos Torres
Center Administrator
415-291-4434
ctorres@ppic.org
See More
Research Network

Water Center Research Network

Newsha Ajami
Director of Urban Water Policy, Stanford University, Water in the West
Expertise:
Water resource hydrology
See More
Maura Allaire
Assistant Professor of Water Economics and Policy, University of California, Irvine
Expertise:
Environmental economics
See More
Staffphoto Baerenklau
Ken Baerenklau
Associate Provost, University of California, Riverside
Associate Professor, University of California, Riverside, School of Public Policy
Expertise:
Environmental economics
See More
Timothy Bradley
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Irvine
949-824-8483
tbradley@uci.edu
Expertise:
Aquatic ecology
See More
Van Butsic
ADJUNCT FELLOW, PUBLIC POLICY INSTITUTE OF CALIFORNIA
ASSISTANT COOPERATIVE EXTENSION SPECIALIST & ADJUNCT PROFESSOR, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY, ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE POLICY AND MANAGEMENT DEPARTMENT
Expertise:
Land use planning
See More
Daniel Cayan
Research Meteorologist, University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
858-534-4507
dcayan@ucsd.edu
Expertise:
Climate science
See More
James Cloern
ADJUNCT FELLOW, PUBLIC POLICY INSTITUTE OF CALIFORNIA
Senior Research Scientist, United States Geological Survey
650-329-4594
jecloern@usgs.gov
Expertise:
Aquatic ecology
See More
Bonnie Colby
Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Hydrology and Water Resources, University of Arizona
Expertise:
Water and energy economics
See More
Helen E. Dahlke
Associate Professor, Integrated Hydrologic Sciences, University of California, Davis
Expertise:
Surface water, groundwater
See More
Frank Davis
Director, University of California, Santa Barbara, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis
Expertise:
Landscape ecology
See More
John Eadie
Professor, University of California, Davis, Wildlife, Fish, and Conservation Biology
Expertise:
Bird ecology
See More
Andrew T. Fisher
Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz
831-459-5598
afisher@ucsc.edu
Expertise:
Groundwater
See More
John Fleck
Director, University of New Mexico Water Resources Program
505-277-0124
fleckj@unm.edu
Expertise:
Colorado River Basin governance
See More
William Fleenor
Senior Researcher, University of California, Davis, Center for Watershed Sciences
Expertise:
Water resource engineering
See More
Graham Fogg
PROFESSOR, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS, DEPARTMENT OF HYDROGEOLOGY
530-752-6810
gefogg@ucdavis.edu
Expertise:
Groundwater
See More
Richard Frank
Director, University of California, Davis, School of Law, California Environmental Law and Policy Center
Expertise:
Environmental law
See More
Photo of Greg Gartrell
Greg Gartrell
Adjunct Fellow, Public Policy Institute of California
Independent Consultant
Expertise:
Water resource engineering
See More
Ted Grantham
ADJUNCT AND PPIC CALTROUT ECOSYSTEM FELLOW, PUBLIC POLICY INSTITUTE OF CALIFORNIA
ASSISTANT COOPERATIVE EXTENSION SPECIALIST, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY
Expertise:
River science
See More
Sarge Green
Project Director, Fresno State University, California Water Institute
Expertise:
Water resource management
See More
Jason Gurdak
Associate Professor of Hydrogeology, San Francisco State University, Department of Earth and Climate Sciences
415-338-6869
jgurdak@sfsu.edu
Expertise:
Groundwater hydrology
See More
Thomas Harter
Hagan Endowed Chair in Water Management and Policy, University of California, Davis, Land, Air, and Water Resources
Expertise:
Groundwater hydrology
See More
David Jassby
Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering University of California, Los Angeles
310-825-1346
jassby@ucla.edu
Expertise:
Water and wastewater treatment, membrane separations, electrochemistry
See More
Katrina Jessoe
Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis, Agricultural and Resource Economics
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Yufang Jin
Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis, Remote Sensing and Ecosystem Change
530-219-4429
yujin@ucdavis.edu
Expertise:
Ecosystem change
See More
Douglas Kenney
Director, Western Water Policy Program
Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy and the Environment; University of Colorado
Expertise:
Colorado River policy
See More
Wim Kimmerer
Research Professor, San Francisco State University, Romberg Tiburon Center
415-338-3515
kimmerer@sfsu.edu
Expertise:
Aquatic ecology
See More
Matt Kondolf
Professor, University of California, Berkeley, Department of Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning
Expertise:
River management
See More
Carolyn Kousky
Director for Policy Research and Engagement, Wharton Risk Management and Decision Processes Center, University of Pennsylvania
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Yusuke Kuwayama
Fellow, Resources for the Future
202-328-5190
kuwayama@rff.org
Expertise:
Water resource economics
See More
Staffphoto Lund2
Jay Lund
Adjunct Fellow, Public Policy Institute of California
Director, University of California, Davis, Center for Watershed Sciences
530-752-5671
jrlund@ucdavis.edu
Expertise:
Water resource engineering
See More
Photo of Josué Medellín-Azuara, PPIC Water Policy Center
Josué Medellín-Azuara
Adjunct Fellow, Public Policy Institute of California
Acting Associate Professor of Environmental Engineering, University of California, Merced
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Staffphoto Misczynski
Dean Misczynski
Independent consultant
Expertise:
Public policy
See More
Photo of David Mitchell
David Mitchell
Adjunct Fellow, Public Policy Institute of California
Principal, M.Cubed
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Peter Moyle
Associate Director, University of California, Davis, Center for Watershed Sciences
Expertise:
Fish biology
See More
Doug Parker
Director, University of California, California Institute for Water Resources
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Debra Perrone
Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies Program, University of California, Santa Barbara
Expertise:
Water policy, groundwater systems, water-food-energy tradeoffs
See More
Nicholas Pinter
Professor, University of California Davis, Center for Watershed Sciences
Expertise:
River management
See More
Brett Sanders
Professor, University of California, Irvine, School of Engineering
949-824-4327
bsanders@uci.edu
Expertise:
Water resource engineering
See More
Kelly T. Sanders
Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Southern California
213-821-0095
ktsanders@usc.edu
Expertise:
Energy-water nexus
See More
Staffphoto Schwabe
Kurt Schwabe
Adjunct Fellow, Public Policy Institute of California
Professor, University of California, Riverside, School of Public Policy
Expertise:
Economics
See More
David Sedlak
Co-Director, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley Water Center
Expertise:
Water quality engineering
See More
Edward S. Spang
Assistant Professor, Food Science and Technology, and Associate Director, Center for Water-Energy Efficiency, University of California, Davis
Expertise:
Food-water-energy nexus
See More
Scott Stephens
PROFESSOR OF FIRE SCIENCE,
CHAIR, DIVISION OF ECOSYSTEM SCIENCE
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY, ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE POLICY AND MANAGEMENT DEPARTMENT
Expertise:
Fire ecology and management
See More
Daniel Sumner
Director, Agricultural Issues Center, University of California, Davis
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Daniel L. Swain
Researcher, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, UCLA Research Fellow, National Center for Atmospheric Research
California Climate Fellow, The Nature Conservancy
303-497-1117
dlswain@ucla.edu
Expertise:
Regional climate change and extremes
See More
Leon Szeptycki
Professor of Law, University of Virginia
Expertise:
Environmental law
See More
Barton "Buzz” Thompson
Director, Stanford University, Woods Institute for the Environment
650-723-2518
buzzt@stanford.edu
Expertise:
Environmental law
See More
Paul Ullrich
ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, REGIONAL AND GLOBAL CLIMATE MODELING, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS, DEPARTMENT OF LAND, AIR, AND WATER RESOURCES
Expertise:
Regional climate change
See More
Joshua Viers
Associate Professor, University of California, Merced, School of Engineering
Expertise:
Watershed science
See More
Casey J. Wichman
Fellow, Resources for the Future
202-328-5055
wichman@rff.org
Expertise:
Economics
See More
Robert Wilkinson
Adjunct Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara, Bren School of the Environment
Expertise:
Public policy
See More
Back To Top